The R&A - Working for Golf
De uitrusting van de speler
Interpretaties
Zie regelinhoud
Ga naar paragraaf
4.1
4.1a
4.1a(1)/1
4.1a(1)/2
4.1a(2)/1
4.1b
4.1b(1)/1
4.1b(1)/2
4.1b(1)/3
4.1b(1)/4
4.1b(2)/1
4.1b(2)/2
4.1b(4)/1
4.1b/1
4.1c
4.1c/C1
4.2
4.2a
4.2a(1)/1
4.2a(1)/2
4.2a(1)/3
4.3
4.3a
4.3a(1)/1
4.3a(2)/1
4.3a(4)/1
4.3a/1
4.3a/C2
4.3
4.3/1

Doel van de regel: Regel 4 beschrijft welke uitrusting de speler tijdens een ronde mag gebruiken. Aangezien golf is gebaseerd op het principe dat het spel een uitdaging vormt, waarbij succes afhangt van oordeel, vaardigheid en capaciteiten van de speler:

  • Moet de speler clubs en ballen gebruiken die aan de regels voldoen.
  • Mag de speler niet meer dan 14 clubs bij zich hebben en mag hij in principe beschadigde of verloren clubs niet vervangen.
  • Gelden er beperkingen voor het gebruik van andere uitrusting die kunstmatige hulp bij het spel biedt.
4.1
Clubs
4.1a
Clubs waarmee een slag mag worden gedaan
4.1a(1)/1
Wear Through Normal Use Does Not Change Conformity

Normal use includes strokes, practice strokes and practice swings, as well as acts such as removing a club from and replacing a club into the golf bag. If wear through normal use occurs, the player's club is treated as conforming, and he or she may continue to use it.

Examples of wear through normal use include when:

  • Material inside a clubhead has broken loose and may rattle during the stroke or when the head is shaken.
  • A wear mark has formed on the club's grip where the thumbs are placed.
  • A depression is formed on the club face through repeated use.
  • The grooves on the club's face are worn.
4.1a(1)/2
No Penalty for Stroke with Non-Conforming Club When Stroke Disregarded

If a player makes a stroke with a non-conforming club, the player is not disqualified if the stroke does not count in the player's score.

Examples of when the player gets no penalty for making a stroke with a non-conforming club include when:

  • The player used the club to make a stroke at a provisional ball, but it never became the ball in play.
  • The player used the club to make a stroke, but the stroke was cancelled.
  • The player used the club to make a stroke at a second ball under Rule 20.1c(3), but that ball was not the ball that counted for his or her score.
4.1a(2)/1
Meaning of “Repair

Examples of repair include:

  • Replacing lead tape that fell off during a stroke. Given the nature of lead tape, if the lead tape will not remain on the club in the same location, new tape may be used.
  • Tightening clubs with adjustable mechanisms that come loose during the round, but not adjusting the club to a different setting.
4.1b
Maximum van 14 clubs; Clubs samen gebruiken, toevoegen of vervangen tijdens de ronde
4.1b(1)/1
Separate Clubhead and Shaft Are Not a Club

With respect to Rule 4.1b(1), separated parts of a club are not a club and do not count towards a player's 14-club limit.

For example, if a player starts his or her round with 14 clubs and is also carrying separated club components, the player is considered to be carrying only 14 clubs and there is no breach of Rule 4.1b(1).

4.1b(1)/2
Club Broken into Pieces Does Not Count Towards the 14-Club Limit

A club that has broken into pieces does not count towards the player's 14-club limit even when the player begins a round with that broken club.

For example, while warming up on the practice range, a player's club breaks just below the grip and the player starts the round with that broken club in his or her bag. That club does not count as one of the 14 clubs the player is allowed to carry.

4.1b(1)/3
Clubs Carried for Player Count Towards the 14-Club Limit

The 14-club limit applies to any clubs being carried by the player, his or her caddie, or any other person he or she asks to carry clubs.

For example, if a player begins the round with 10 clubs and asks another person to walk along with the group and carry 8 additional clubs from which the player intends to add to his or her bag during the round, the player is considered to have started the round with more than 14 clubs

4.1b(1)/4
Club Is Considered Added When Next Stroke Made

A club is considered added when the player makes his or her next stroke with any club while the added club is in the player's possession. This applies whether or not the player is allowed to add or replace a club.

For example, if a player who starts the round with 14 clubs decides to replace his or her putter with another putter between the play of two holes and does so without unreasonably delaying play, the player is not penalized if he or she realizes the mistake and corrects it prior to making the next stroke with any club.

4.1b(2)/1
Multiple Players May Carry Clubs in One Bag

The Rules do not restrict multiple players (such as partners) from carrying their clubs in one bag. However, to reduce the risk of penalty under Rule 4.1b, they should make sure the clubs are clearly identifiable to each player.

4.1b(2)/2
Sharing Clubs Is Not Allowed for Strokes That Count In a Player’s Score

The prohibition against sharing clubs applies only to strokes that count in a player's score. It does not apply to practice swings, practice strokes or strokes made after the result of a hole is decided.

For example, there is no penalty under Rule 4.1b if, between the play of two holes, a player borrows another player's putter and makes several practice putts on the putting green of the hole just completed.

4.1b(4)/1
Club Components May Be Assembled When Not Carried By or For Player

Rule 4.1b(4) restricts a player from building a club from parts that he or she is carrying or parts that any other person is carrying for him or her. It does not restrict the player from retrieving parts to build a club or having parts brought to him or her.

For example, if a player is permitted to add a club (see Rule 4.1b(1)) or replace a damaged club (see Rule 4.1b(3)), club components brought from the clubhouse (such as the player's locker), the golf shop, or a manufacturer's truck, or other similar locations, are not considered to be "carried by anyone for the player during the round" and are allowed to be assembled by the player or anyone else.

4.1b/1
How to Apply Adjustment Penalty Once Any Player Starts Hole During Match

If any player in a match has started play of a hole when a breach of Rule 4.1b is discovered, the match adjustment penalty is applied at the end of that hole. If the player in breach has not started that hole, he or she is between holes and is not in breach on the next hole.

For example, after completing the first hole, the player tees off on the second hole. Before the opponent tees off, the opponent becomes aware that he or she is carrying 15 clubs in breach of Rule 4.1b(1). Since the opponent has not started the second hole, the match score is only adjusted by one hole in the player's favour, but the match score is not revised until the second hole is completed since the second hole started when the player teed off.

4.1c
Procedure om clubs uit het spel te nemen
4.1c/C1
Clarification: Club Taken Out of Play Must Not Be Used During That Round

If an extra club was taken out of play before a round and carried during the round, or a club was taken out of play during the round, it must not be used for the remainder of that round. This includes a situation where a player is allowed to replace a club, and is an additional restriction in Rule 4.1b(4).

(Clarification added 12/2018)

4.2
Ballen
4.2a
Ballen die zijn toegestaan om een ronde mee te spelen
4.2a(1)/1
Status of Ball Not on List of Conforming Golf Balls

In a competition in which the Committee has not adopted the Local Rule requiring players to use a brand and model of ball on the current List of Conforming Golf Balls, a player may use the following golf balls:

  • Brands and models that have never been tested - these are presumed to conform and the onus of proof is on the person alleging that the ball does not conform.
  • Brands and models that appeared on a previous List but have not been re-submitted for inclusion on the current List - these are presumed to continue to conform.

However, brands and models that have been tested and found not to conform to the Equipment Rules must not be played, whether or not the Local Rule has been adopted.

4.2a(1)/2
Status of “X-Out”, “Refurbished” and “Practice” Balls

If a player chooses to play a ball that is marked as "X-Out" or "Practice" by the manufacturer, or a ball that has been refurbished, these balls are treated as follows under the Equipment Rules:

  • "X-Out" is the common name used for a golf ball that a manufacturer considers to be imperfect (often for aesthetic reasons only, such as paint or printing errors) and, therefore, has crossed out the brand name. "Refurbished" refers to a second-hand golf ball that has been cleaned and stamped as "refurbished" or a similar stamping.
    In the absence of strong evidence to suggest that an "X-Out" or "refurbished" ball does not conform to the Equipment Rules, a player is allowed to use it.
    However, if the Committee has adopted the List of Conforming Golf Balls as a Local Rule, such a ball must not be used even if the identification markings on the ball in question appear on the List.
  • "Practice" balls are typically listed, conforming golf balls that have been stamped "Practice" or with a similar stamping. "Practice" balls are treated in the same way as golf balls that feature a golf club or course, company, school or other logo.
    Such balls may be used even where the Committee has adopted the List of Conforming Golf Balls as a Local Rule.
4.2a(1)/3
No Penalty for Playing Non-Conforming Ball When Stroke Is Disregarded

If a player makes a stroke at a non-conforming ball or a ball not on the List of Conforming Golf Balls when the Local Rule is in effect, the player is not disqualified if the stroke does not count in the player's score.

Examples of when a player gets no penalty include when the player plays a ball that is not allowed:

  • As a provisional ball, but the provisional ball never becomes the ball in play.
  • When the stroke with that ball is cancelled.
  • As a second ball under Rule 20.1c(3), but that ball is not the ball that counts for his or her score.
4.3
Gebruik van uitrusting
4.3a
Toegestaan en verboden gebruik van uitrusting
4.3a(1)/1
Restrictions on Using Equipment to Gauge Slope

Although a player may use his or her club as a plumb line to assist in judging or gauging slope and contours, there is other equipment that a player may not use in judging a slope or contour.

For example, a player is not allowed to gauge slope by:

  • Placing a bottled drink to act as a level.
  • Holding or placing a bubble level.
  • Using a weight suspended on a string as a plumb line.
4.3a(2)/1
Using Artificial Objects to Get Wind-Related Information Is Not Allowed

Rule 4.3a(2) gives a single example of an artificial object not allowed to get wind-related information (powder to assess wind direction). However, other artificial objects must not be used for the sole purpose of getting wind-related information.

For example, if a player takes a handkerchief out for the sole purpose of holding it in the air to see which direction the wind is blowing, the player's action is a breach of Rule 4.3.

4.3a(4)/1
Viewing Video That is Being Shown at the Course

There is no breach of Rule 4.3a(4) if a player views video that is being shown for the benefit of spectators at a golf competition.

For example, if a player is standing on a tee waiting to play, and he or she is able to see a public screen showing live coverage of the competition, statistical information, wind speed or other similar things, there is no breach of the Rule 4.3 if the player watches the coverage or views the information, even if it could help the player in choosing a club, making a stroke, or deciding how to play.

4.3a/1
Limitations on Using Green-Reading Materials

Purpose of Interpretation: Rule 4.3 limits the use of equipment and devices that might help a player in his or her play, based on the principle that golf is a challenging game in which success should depend on the judgement, skills and abilities of the player.  This interpretation of Rule 4.3 limits the size and scale of detailed putting green maps and any similar electronic or digital materials that a player may use during a round to help with reading his or her line of play on the putting green so that a player's ability to read a green remains an essential part of the skill of putting.

 Putting Green Maps

The player is allowed to use a putting green map or other putting green information, except that:

  • Any image of a putting green must be limited to a scale of 3/8 inch to 5 yards (1:480) or smaller (the "scale limit").
  • Any book or other paper containing a map or image of a putting green must not be larger than 4 1/4 inches x 7 inches (the "size limit"), although a "hole location sheet" that displays 9 or more holes on a single sheet of paper may be larger, provided that any image of a single putting green meets the scale limit.
  • No magnification of putting green information is allowed other than a player's normal wearing of prescription glasses or lenses.
  • Hand drawn or written information about a putting green is only allowed if contained in a book or paper meeting the size limit and written by the player and/or his or her caddie.

Electronic or Digital Putting Green Maps

In electronic or digital form, any image of a putting green must meet the above scale and size limits.  Even when an electronic or digital putting green map meets the above limits, the player is still in breach of Rule 4.3 if the player uses any device in a manner not consistent with the purpose of these limits, such as by:

  • Increasing the size of the green's representation beyond the scale or size limits;
  • Producing a recommended line of play based on the location (or estimated location) of the player's ball (see Rule 4.3a(1)).


Frequently Asked Questions: To view a document detailing frequently asked questions in relation to Green Reading Materials, click here. [Link not available in App.]
 

4.3a/C2
Clarification: When Use of Alignment Device Results in Breach

If a player places an “alignment device” (see Definition in Equipment Rules to see when a ball-marker meets this Definition) to show the line of play and then orients his or her ball based on the direction of that alignment device, the player is in breach of Rule 4.3a.

For example, a player’s ball comes to rest on the putting green and the player marks the spot of his or her ball with an “alignment device.” When doing so, the alignment device is placed to show the line of play. If the player then lifts and replaces his or her ball (which includes rotating it) so that a marking on the ball is lined up with the alignment device, the player is in breach of Rule 4.3a. 

(Clarification added 1/2020)

4.3/1
Player Breaches Rule 4 .3 Between Holes; How to Apply the Penalty

For the first breach of Rule 4.3, the player gets the general penalty on the hole where the breach occurs. However, if the player breaches Rule 4.3 between the play of two holes, the penalty is applied to the next hole to be played.

For example, a player uses an alignment rod to check his or swing plane between the play of two holes.

In match play, the player loses the next hole or, in stroke play, he or she gets two penalty strokes and will start the next hole making his or her third stroke.

Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Provisionele bal

Een andere bal geslagen voor het geval dat de bal die de speler zojuist heeft geslagen misschien:

  • Out-of-bounds is.
  • Verloren is buiten een hindernis.

Een provisionele bal is niet de spelers bal in het spel, tenzij deze de bal in het spel wordt volgens Regel 18.3c.

In het spel

De status van een spelers bal wanneer deze bal op de baan ligt en wordt gebruikt voor het spelen van een hole:

  • Een bal komt voor het eerst in het spel op een hole:
    • wanneer de speler er een slag naar doet van binnen de afslagplaats, of
    • bij matchplay, wanneer de speler er een slag naar doet van buiten de afslagplaats en de tegenstander de slag niet laat vervallen volgens Regel 6.1b.
  • Die bal blijft in het spel totdat hij is uitgeholed, maar hij is niet langer in het spel:
    • wanneer hij is opgenomen van de baan;
    • wanneer hij verloren is (zelfs als hij stilligt op de baan) of buiten de baan ligt, of
    • wanneer hij is vervangen door een andere bal, zelfs als dat niet is toegestaan volgens een regel.

Een bal die niet in het spel is, is een verkeerde bal.

De speler kan nooit meer dan één bal in het spel hebben. (Zie Regel 6.3d voor de uitzonderingen waarbij een speler meer dan één bal tegelijkertijd mag spelen op een hole.)

Wanneer de Regels verwijzen naar een stilliggende bal of een bal in beweging, betekent dit dat een bal in het spel is.

Wanneer een balmarker is neergelegd om de plek van een bal in het spel te markeren:

  • Is de bal nog in het spel als hij niet is opgenomen.
  • Is de bal in het spel als je bal is opgenomen en teruggeplaatst, zelfs als de balmarker niet is weggenomen.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Ronde

18 holes of minder, gespeeld in de volgorde zoals bepaald door de Commissie.

Ronde

18 holes of minder, gespeeld in de volgorde zoals bepaald door de Commissie.

Ronde

18 holes of minder, gespeeld in de volgorde zoals bepaald door de Commissie.

Caddie

Iemand die een speler helpt tijdens een ronde, onder andere op de volgende manier:

  • Dragen, vervoeren of verzorgen van clubs: Iemand die de clubs van de speler draagt, vervoert (zoals met een golfkar of trolley) of verzorgt tijdens het spel is de spelers caddie, zelfs als deze niet door de speler als caddie is benoemd, behalve wanneer dit wordt gedaan om de clubs, tas of golfkar van de speler uit de weg te zetten of uit beleefdheid (zoals een club halen die de speler heeft achtergelaten).
  • Advies geven: De caddie van een speler is de enige persoon (behalve een partner of partners caddie) aan wie een speler advies mag vragen.

Een caddie mag de speler ook op andere manieren helpen (zie Regel 10.3b).

Ronde

18 holes of minder, gespeeld in de volgorde zoals bepaald door de Commissie.

Ronde

18 holes of minder, gespeeld in de volgorde zoals bepaald door de Commissie.

Ronde

18 holes of minder, gespeeld in de volgorde zoals bepaald door de Commissie.

Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Ronde

18 holes of minder, gespeeld in de volgorde zoals bepaald door de Commissie.

Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Partner

Een speler die samen met een andere speler in dezelfde partij speelt, bij matchplay of strokeplay.

Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Green

De green is dat gedeelte van de hole die wordt gespeeld dat:

  • speciaal is geprepareerd voor het putten, of
  • door de Commissie als green is aangewezen (bijvoorbeeld wanneer een tijdelijke green in gebruik is).

Op de green bevindt zich de hole waarin de speler zijn bal probeert te slaan. De green is een van de vijf gedefinieerde gebieden van de baan. De greens van alle andere holes (die de speler op dat moment niet speelt) zijn verkeerde greens en onderdeel van het algemene gebied.

De grens van een green wordt bepaald door waar men kan zien dat het speciaal geprepareerde gebied begint (zoals daar waar het gras een duidelijk rand vertoont), tenzij de Commissie de grens op een andere manier afbakent (bijvoorbeeld met lijnen of stippen).

Als een dubbele green in gebruik is voor twee verschillende holes:

  • Dan wordt het gehele geprepareerde gebied dat beide holes omvat beschouwd als de green bij het spelen van elke hole.

Echter de Commissie mag een grens aangeven die de dubbele green in twee verschillende greens verdeelt, zodat wanneer een speler een van beide holes speelt, het deel van de dubbele green voor de andere hole een verkeerde green is.

Ronde

18 holes of minder, gespeeld in de volgorde zoals bepaald door de Commissie.

Tegenstander

De persoon tegen wie de speler speelt in een wedstrijd. Het begrip tegenstander is alleen van toepassing bij matchplay.

Tegenstander

De persoon tegen wie de speler speelt in een wedstrijd. Het begrip tegenstander is alleen van toepassing bij matchplay.

Tegenstander

De persoon tegen wie de speler speelt in een wedstrijd. Het begrip tegenstander is alleen van toepassing bij matchplay.

Commissie

De persoon of groep verantwoordelijk voor de wedstrijd of de baan.

Zie Commissie Procedures, Hoofdstuk 1 (uitleg van de rol van de Commissie).

Regels voor uitrusting

De specificaties en andere regels voor clubs, ballen en andere uitrusting die spelers mogen gebruiken gedurende een ronde. De regels voor uitrusting zijn te vinden op RandA.org/EquipmentStandards.

Regels voor uitrusting

De specificaties en andere regels voor clubs, ballen en andere uitrusting die spelers mogen gebruiken gedurende een ronde. De regels voor uitrusting zijn te vinden op RandA.org/EquipmentStandards.

Regels voor uitrusting

De specificaties en andere regels voor clubs, ballen en andere uitrusting die spelers mogen gebruiken gedurende een ronde. De regels voor uitrusting zijn te vinden op RandA.org/EquipmentStandards.

Commissie

De persoon of groep verantwoordelijk voor de wedstrijd of de baan.

Zie Commissie Procedures, Hoofdstuk 1 (uitleg van de rol van de Commissie).

Commissie

De persoon of groep verantwoordelijk voor de wedstrijd of de baan.

Zie Commissie Procedures, Hoofdstuk 1 (uitleg van de rol van de Commissie).

Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Provisionele bal

Een andere bal geslagen voor het geval dat de bal die de speler zojuist heeft geslagen misschien:

  • Out-of-bounds is.
  • Verloren is buiten een hindernis.

Een provisionele bal is niet de spelers bal in het spel, tenzij deze de bal in het spel wordt volgens Regel 18.3c.

Provisionele bal

Een andere bal geslagen voor het geval dat de bal die de speler zojuist heeft geslagen misschien:

  • Out-of-bounds is.
  • Verloren is buiten een hindernis.

Een provisionele bal is niet de spelers bal in het spel, tenzij deze de bal in het spel wordt volgens Regel 18.3c.

In het spel

De status van een spelers bal wanneer deze bal op de baan ligt en wordt gebruikt voor het spelen van een hole:

  • Een bal komt voor het eerst in het spel op een hole:
    • wanneer de speler er een slag naar doet van binnen de afslagplaats, of
    • bij matchplay, wanneer de speler er een slag naar doet van buiten de afslagplaats en de tegenstander de slag niet laat vervallen volgens Regel 6.1b.
  • Die bal blijft in het spel totdat hij is uitgeholed, maar hij is niet langer in het spel:
    • wanneer hij is opgenomen van de baan;
    • wanneer hij verloren is (zelfs als hij stilligt op de baan) of buiten de baan ligt, of
    • wanneer hij is vervangen door een andere bal, zelfs als dat niet is toegestaan volgens een regel.

Een bal die niet in het spel is, is een verkeerde bal.

De speler kan nooit meer dan één bal in het spel hebben. (Zie Regel 6.3d voor de uitzonderingen waarbij een speler meer dan één bal tegelijkertijd mag spelen op een hole.)

Wanneer de Regels verwijzen naar een stilliggende bal of een bal in beweging, betekent dit dat een bal in het spel is.

Wanneer een balmarker is neergelegd om de plek van een bal in het spel te markeren:

  • Is de bal nog in het spel als hij niet is opgenomen.
  • Is de bal in het spel als je bal is opgenomen en teruggeplaatst, zelfs als de balmarker niet is weggenomen.
Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Algemene straf.

Verlies van de hole bij matchplay of twee strafslagen bij strokeplay.

Matchplay

Een spelvorm waarbij een speler of partij rechtstreeks tegen een tegenstander of tegenpartij speelt in een onderlinge wedstrijd van een of meerdere rondes:

  • Een speler of partij wint een hole in de wedstrijd door de hole in minder slagen uit te spelen (met inbegrip van gespeelde slagen en strafslagen).
  • De wedstrijd is gewonnen wanneer een speler of partij meer holes voor staat op de tegenstander of tegenpartij dan er nog te spelen zijn.

Matchplay kan worden gespeeld als een één-tegen-éénwedstrijd (waarbij één speler rechtstreeks tegen één tegenstander speelt), een Driebal-wedstrijd of een Foursomes of Four-Ball-wedstrijd tussen partijen van twee partners.

Strokeplay

Een spelvorm waarbij een speler of partij het opneemt tegen alle andere spelers of partijen in de wedstrijd.

In de reguliere vorm van strokeplay (zie Regel 3.3):

  • Is de score van een speler of partij voor een ronde het totaal aantal slagen dat hij of zij nodig heeft om op iedere hole uit te holen (gespeelde slagen en opgelopen strafslagen inbegrepen).
  • Is de winnaar de speler of partij die alle rondes met in totaal het minst aantal slagen uitspeelt.

Andere vormen van strokeplay  met andere methodes om de score te bepalen zijn Stableford, Maximum Score en Par/Bogey (zie Regel 21).

Alle vormen van strokeplay  kunnen worden gespeeld in zowel individuele wedstrijden (iedere speler speelt voor zichzelf) als in wedstrijden met partijen of partners (Foursomes of Four-Ball).

Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.
Uitrusting

Alles wat door jou of je caddie wordt gebruikt, gedragen, vastgehouden of meegevoerd.

Voorwerpen die worden gebruikt voor het onderhoud van de baan, zoals harken, zijn alleen uitrusting wanneer ze worden vastgehouden of meegevoerd door de speler of caddie.

 

Interpretation Equipment/1 - Status of Items Carried by Someone Else for the Player

Items, other than clubs, that are carried by someone other than a player or his or her caddie are outside influences, even if they belong to the player. However, they are the player's equipment when in the player's or his or her caddie's possession.

For example, if a player asks a spectator to carry his or her umbrella, the umbrella is an outside influence while in the spectator's possession. However, if the spectator hands the umbrella to the player, it is now his or her equipment.

Slag

De voorwaartse beweging van de club om de bal te slaan.

Echter er is geen slag gedaan als de speler:

  • Tijdens de neerzwaai bewust besluit om de bal niet te slaan en dit ook voorkomt door de kop van de club tegen te houden voordat deze bij de bal komt of, als dit niet lukt, in ieder geval opzettelijk de bal mist.
  • Per ongeluk de bal raakt bij het maken van een oefenswing of in de voorbereiding om een slag te doen.

Wanneer er in de regels wordt gesproken over "het spelen van een bal", dan betekent dit hetzelfde als het doen van een slag.

De score van een speler voor een hole of een ronde wordt met ‘slagen’ of ‘aantal slagen’ aangegeven, wat zowel het aantal gespeelde slagen als de opgelopen strafslagen omvat (zie Regel 3.1c).

 

Interpretation Stroke/1 - Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, whether or not the ball is struck with the shaft.
  • The clubhead separates from the shaft during the downswing and the player continues the downswing with the shaft alone, with the clubhead falling and striking the ball.

The player's action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

  • During the downswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player stops the downswing short of the ball, but the clubhead falls and strikes and moves the ball.
  • During the backswing, a player's clubhead separates from the shaft. The player completes the downswing with the shaft but does not strike the ball.
  • A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.